Humans of CodeChem: Dushko Videski

Humans of CodeChem: Dushko Videski

Ivana Rangelova's photo
Ivana Rangelova
·Dec 10, 2021·

3 min read

Subscribe to our newsletter and never miss any upcoming articles

Listen to this article

Let's meet Dushko, our software engineer, proficient in React. Dushko joined us almost a year ago. With a brave heart and patient work, he took a big step in his life by changing his career to IT. In this interview, he's telling us his story of hard work, persistence and not giving up.

1. What are the three things that are awesome about you?

Persistent, hardworking, dedicated.

2. What is your favorite part of working at CodeChem?

The overall atmosphere and the people.

DSCF6096.JPG

3. Recently you made a career switch. Tell us more about it.

Undoubtedly the biggest step I made in my life. Only someone who switched a profession after working in banking for 13 years can understand the challenges of it. Every aspect is different, and the road to getting where I am now wasn't easy at all. Having your first child while going to regular work and attending classes at academy for web development afterwards, is a true challenge. I guess my dedication and persistence paid off in this case. Starting from zero and building a new career at my age requires a lot of sacrifices, hard work and not giving up. But this transition was less stressful and easier to go through thanks to my wife, close friends, family, my mentor and colleagues, who always supported me in this journey.

4. You're 11 months in your new career. Can you tell us what's more exciting about this new job?

Working at CodeChem was the thing that was missing in my work life. The opportunity to learn new things and skills that matter and advance in my carrier. Working in a healthy environment free of any stereotypes, clichés and unnecessary stress. The flat hierarchy and ease to talk to any member of the company. Having the feel that you belong to the company and are appreciated. All in all, being excited to go to work every day rather than waiting for Friday to come.

5. Would you mind sharing with us your life motto or principles?

Expect the best but be prepared for the worst. Loyalty to true friends and family.

6. What are your hobbies?

Watching movies and history documentaries, riding bicycles...

DSCF6035.JPG

7. What does your typical workday look like?

07:00

I usually wake up around 7, start getting ready for work and helping my wife prepare our son for kindergarten. I take my kid to the kindergarten, ride to work usually on my e-scooter, have my first coffee and snack at work and chat with my collages.

I start working around 8:30 – 9 o’clock

10:00

Deep into day-to-day work tasks. I have the daily meeting at 10:30 and continue working. Have my breakfast around 11 – 11:30 and continue working. Have one or two coffees along the way.

14:00

Working, socializing with my colleagues, coffee…

16:00

Have the Daily Stand-up meeting with the team and continue working till 5 pm or so. Then I usually had back home to have dinner with my family…. which are usually waiting for me at the table. ☺

20:00

From 6 pm till 8 pm usually, I’m at home playing with my kid or taking him out for a walk or bike ride around the neighborhood when the weather is fine. He usually goes to bed around 8:30 – 9 pm and then is relax time☺. From October 2021, Tuesdays and Thursdays are reserved for German Language classes from 9:30 pm till 11 pm and Mondays and Wednesdays for relaxing and homework. Friday after work is always a relaxing time, after work hangout with colleagues, visiting friends, watch some movie or go out if there is an available granny to babysit our kid.☺

 
Share this